Register

Welcome to the Samsung Galaxy Forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Menu Screen Glitch Since EL29 Update

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    52
    Member #
    5823
    Liked
    5 times

    Menu Screen Glitch Since EL29 Update

    Prior to the EL29 Upgrade when ever I would restart my phone, or went to the main screen, the phone would go to screen #4 (of 7) which was the main/center menu screen. I liked that because I had my weather,time and medical apps are on the main page, for ease of use. Now since the update, the menu screen always goes to menu screen #7 (of 7) and if I hit the home screen button an extra time or two, it will eventually jump to screen #4 (center) which is where I wanted it in the first place.! This is extremely annoying! I wan't to find information on setting up the 7 screens. It's easy enough to get to the page where I could add/remove screens, but setting up a page order or default start page, is not self explanitory.

    Any help in fixing this problem would be greatly appreciated.

    Greg

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    Super Moderator/RS
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    3,852
    Member #
    5
    Liked
    253 times
    On my version of the phone you can get to the arrangement screen two different ways. The first is to pinch inwards on any of the screens and the other is to press Menu and then Edit on any of the home screens.

    Once all of your pages appear you long press whichever screen you want to be your true home screen and drag it to the top left position. After arranging the screens to your liking you press the home button to exit the editing mode. Afterwards, whichever screen you positioned in the top left corner will be the screen you land on when pressing the home button or when you reboot your phone.

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    52
    Member #
    5823
    Liked
    5 times
    Doing this only changed the order of the screens. Pressing the home key once gets me to screen 7 and pressing it again gets me to home. Even if I haven't used screen/page 7.

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk

  5. #4
    Super Moderator/RS
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    3,852
    Member #
    5
    Liked
    253 times
    It sounds like you should put the screen that you want on page seven lol. My phone doesn't operate like yours. Whichever screen I set in the top left corner under editing becomes my home screen after pressing home twice. Another option is to download a different launcher.

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    52
    Member #
    5823
    Liked
    5 times
    I also noticed that my AP news widget is no longer able to access the news service. So I downloaded the regular app and it works perfectly, but the one that came on the phone to begin with, no longer works.


    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk

  7. #6
    Rescue Squad
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Avondale, AZ
    Posts
    8,634
    Member #
    2581
    Liked
    485 times
    I vote for a factory reset :P I joke, leave that as a last resort.
    Ollie likes this.

    Rescue Squad

    Feel free to pm, with any questions or concerns

    Gtalk available upon request


  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    52
    Member #
    5823
    Liked
    5 times
    Quote Originally Posted by ronnie8890 View Post
    I vote for a factory reset :P I joke, leave that as a last resort.
    I'm close to doing a factory reset, but I've been reading where another update to, fix this one, is due in a few weeks.

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk

  9. #8
    Super Moderator/RS
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    3,852
    Member #
    5
    Liked
    253 times
    Quote Originally Posted by ronnie8890 View Post
    I vote for a factory reset :P I joke, leave that as a last resort.
    This is the route I always go. If the issue is something minor then I might trouble shoot for the sake of learning and having fun. Most people do not want to resort to a factory reset. I'm not sure why because it is often faster and more beneficial to spend 15 minutes creating a backup and wiping than it is to spend hours searching for a fix. If I spend more than 10 minutes on my phone scratching my head I apply a factory reset.

  10. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    52
    Member #
    5823
    Liked
    5 times
    Backing up without root isn't a easy or effective.

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk

  11. #10
    Super Moderator/RS
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    3,852
    Member #
    5
    Liked
    253 times
    With this phone it is actually quite easy. You do it through Samsung Kies on your computer.
    These are the steps that I take on a stock phone:
    1. I use Appsaver to save all of my .apks. It saves them to /sdcard/appsaver. Then I transfer the folder to my external sdcard for safe keeping. This step saves me from having to write down all of the free apps that I have gotten from Google, Getjar, and Amazon. Your paid Google apps will reinstall automatically after the wipe and your FAOTD from Amazon will prompt you as soon as you reinstall their .apk from the Appsaver folder.
    2. I sync one more time with Google to ensure all of my contacts are in the cloud. This is precautionary because I also do this in step three.
    3. I then sync through Samsung Kies on my computer which will transfer (if selected) my contacts, movies, music, notes, etc in a backup file.
    4. Wipe the phone.
    5. Restore from the backup in Samsung.
    6. Log in to Google and sync.
    7. Reinstall Amazon and Getjar and their respective apps from the Appsaver folder.
    8. Reinstall any other free .apks from the Appsaver folder.

    The only downfall to this is that app data is not retained.

    On my phone however, this is easily avoided by dropping a rooted kernel onto it with Odin on the PC. It doesn't perform a wipe and it allows me to use Titanium backup which does preserve app data. Afterwards, wipe the phone, drop the rooted kernel on it, sync with Google, download Titanium, and finally restore apps and data (not system data!). Done.

    Maybe your phone has the same option to root with a kernel that doesn't wipe your phone.

 

 

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. cm7fascinate-glitch-v13.zip
    By tbutchwood in forum Samsung Fascinate Hacking
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 11-29-2011, 02:36 PM
  2. In the messaging menu/folder
    By jimmerz in forum Samsung Fascinate General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-26-2011, 10:09 PM
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-26-2011, 06:44 PM
  4. Organizing Apps/Menu Screen - Accidental Deletes - Help
    By wmohring in forum Samsung Fascinate Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-27-2010, 06:17 PM

Search tags for this page

epic 4g touch menu keeps popping up
,

epic 4g touch menu popping up

,
galaxy 2 menu keeps popping up
,
galaxy s2 glitches
,

galaxy s2 menu keeps popping up

,
menu keeps popping up on galaxy s2
,
samsung galaxy 2 glitches between menus
,

samsung galaxy s2 menu keeps popping up

Click on a term to search for related topics.
Back to Top