Register

Welcome to the Samsung Galaxy Forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Member #
    Liked
    1 times

ClockWorkMod... What is it?

As I have stated before, I am new to the Android platform, the process of rooting, custom ROMs, etc, etc. So my question, which hopefully I am not the only who wants to know, is... What is this ClockWorkMod and what is it suppose to do for me? Any additional information you have and/or want to share are welcome. Thanks in Advance!

The Search Feature is your friend...

If you read a helpful post, be sure to click the "Thanks" button on that post to show you appreciated it.

2. Ads

Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    My understanding is that it is a rom that is the basis for many root hacks and goodies. Installing it or any rom/mod will drastically change how you use your phone, because you will then have opened the for to use any of the cw mod apps that are created. It appears to be the 'mainstream' of the not mainstream. Currently, there does not seem to me a cw rom that is available that the uninitiated should attempt to use.

EDIT: as corrected by the good and gracious kamileon, i do see that my understanding of cw was askew in that it is *not* a rom itself, but an app that can install roms, and other various root hackery. thanks, my friend!
    verizon user since 2001: kyocera 6035, samsung i300, treo 600p, treo 700p, htc eris droid, motorola droid x, samsung fascinate droid (since 2010-09-11)

Member #
    Liked
    0 times