Register

Welcome to the Samsung Galaxy Forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    44
    Member #
    389
    Liked
    2 times

    bad, Bad, BAD signal

    Did I mention I have bad signal strength. Outside is fine. Not great, but it works. In my house I get 1 bar at best and usually it's 0 bars and cutting out conversation. I like the phone otherwise, but I use this phone for business and this can't happen. Any ideas? Is there maybe an external antenna?

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    257
    Member #
    279
    Liked
    0 times
    Are you a new verizon customer, if not did you have the same issue with your last phone. If you are new, then you are either in a bad coverage area, which I doubt, but it could be the phone. I read in another post that vzw is replacing phones for a similar issue, might want to take it back for a replacement.

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    504
    Member #
    38
    Liked
    0 times
    Could be your house. I wouldnt get discouraged if you have wifi in your house you could connect to that.

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    44
    Member #
    389
    Liked
    2 times
    I'm not a new customer. My old phone had a decent signal. Not great, but it at least was good enough to have a conversation. I'll see what the V says.
    About the wi-Fi, I wasn't aware that it functioned for talk as well as data.

    Has anyone tried one of these in the home?
    Cellet Shark Fin Passive Antenna Repeater For Samsung, Samsung Fascinate - Miscellaneous - Fommy.com

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    804
    Member #
    300
    Liked
    1 times
    You won't be able to use wifi at your house to replace your voice service unless you use Google Voice or you have a femtocell from Verizon, which if I'm remembering correctly costs about $200.

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    1,864
    Member #
    210
    Liked
    6 times
    Do you really have bad service, or are your bars just showing none or 1. The bars on my phone never go over 1 or 2 and usually are sitting at 0, however, I have never had a dropped call with this phone. The display is just not a true indicator of the signal strength. You can go into the settings and look at the actual db, but if mine isn't dropping calls and the 3g stays active, I don't care what the display shows.

  8. #7
    CR6
    CR6 is offline
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    7,266
    Member #
    49
    Liked
    336 times
    My previous two phones, Motorola Razr & Casio GzOne both showed more bars than my Fascinate does. Regardless, I've had no signal problems whatsoever with this phone.

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    44
    Member #
    389
    Liked
    2 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Sele View Post
    Do you really have bad service, or are your bars just showing none or 1. The bars on my phone never go over 1 or 2 and usually are sitting at 0, however, I have never had a dropped call with this phone. The display is just not a true indicator of the signal strength. You can go into the settings and look at the actual db, but if mine isn't dropping calls and the 3g stays active, I don't care what the display shows.
    It's not dropping the call, it's cutting in and out making it impossible to have a conversation.

    Quote Originally Posted by CR6 View Post
    My previous two phones, Motorola Razr & Casio GzOne both showed more bars than my Fascinate does. Regardless, I've had no signal problems whatsoever with this phone.
    I've had the razor, moto W755 and briefly the Brigade. They all had clear reception in my home. The W755 would drop calls rarely (maybe 20 times in 2 years), but nothing worth mentioning.
    I think I'll trythat antenna I mentioned in my original post. Unless someone has a better idea.

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    1,864
    Member #
    210
    Liked
    6 times
    Quote Originally Posted by chemoman View Post
    It's not dropping the call, it's cutting in and out making it impossible to have a conversation.


    I've had the razor, moto W755 and briefly the Brigade. They all had clear reception in my home. The W755 would drop calls rarely (maybe 20 times in 2 years), but nothing worth mentioning.
    I think I'll trythat antenna I mentioned in my original post. Unless someone has a better idea.
    You might want to take it in to a local store and compare the signal strength with those in the store. It is possible that you have a flakey one that would need replacing. I think I would try that before trying an additional antenna.

  11. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    44
    Member #
    389
    Liked
    2 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Sele View Post
    You might want to take it in to a local store and compare the signal strength with those in the store. It is possible that you have a flakey one that would need replacing. I think I would try that before trying an additional antenna.
    I took it to the VZ store to check the signals on other phones. They must have some sort of antenna boost because every phone in the store, including mine had full bars.
    I dropped 15 bucks on an automotive window antenna and stuck it on the window at my office in my home. I really didn't expect it to work, but my signal is crystal clear now. My bars are still at 1-2, but no more cutting in and out.
    I give the antenna a "deal" rating.

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Remove Ads

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Looking for insight on 3g signal issue and internet access?
    By rlp2955 in forum Samsung Fascinate Help
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-03-2011, 03:28 PM
  2. Trouble with my data signal
    By loustsoul in forum Fascinate RS Help
    Replies: 61
    Last Post: 05-26-2011, 07:29 PM
  3. Rooted and random signal drop?
    By ccr05 in forum Samsung Fascinate Help
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 04-02-2011, 10:48 PM
  4. I heart radio losses signal. Any tips to help.
    By BudworthTDog in forum Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-23-2011, 09:31 AM
  5. No Signal
    By jilldh in forum Samsung Fascinate Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-28-2011, 10:22 PM

Search tags for this page

samsung fascinate bad service

,
samsung fascinate boost signal
,
samsung fascinate improve reception
,

samsung fascinate no signal

,
samsung fascinate poor reception
,

samsung fascinate signal booster

,
samsung fascinate signal problems
,
samsung fascinate signal strength
Click on a term to search for related topics.
Back to Top