Register

Welcome to the Samsung Galaxy Forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    5
    Member #
    5362
    Liked
    0 times

    Cannot send or receive Multimedia Messages (MMS)

    My wife and I have the T-Mobile Galaxy S2, and neither of us can send or receive picture messages.
    I have seen online that people say it is APN settings, but those are default, and I haven't seen anything online that was different than what the phone settings already had.
    Just trying to see if anyone else has some advice.
    Thanks

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,324
    Member #
    1446
    Liked
    14 times
    Hello GuardedLegacy! Welcome to the forum!!!
    I don't have the Galaxy S2, but I can offer some quick checks. You probably have checked, but it's good to be sure.

    Your device is not in airplane mode, and also check that data is enabled?

    Hang on and one of our Knowledgeable members will be here shortly!


    Again, welcome!
    DejaVu

  4. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio - The North Coast!
    Posts
    6,420
    Member #
    4334
    Liked
    330 times
    Hi GuardedLegacy! I have an AT&T Galaxy S II, but I'm not a tech expert. As DejaVu pointed out, you do need to have data enabled in your Settings area in order to receive text and pictures. All of our Rescue Squad guys are tied up at the moment, but hang in there awhile longer and one of them will swing by and give you a hand.

    Welcome aboard!


    -Mike
    GSM Galaxy Note 3 (Black) - Straight Stock
    GSM Galaxy Note 2 (Titanium) - Rooted running Jedi X20 Rom
    GSM Galaxy Nexus (Black) - Straight Stock

    GSM Samsung Galaxy S3 (Red) - Rooted running Deadly Venom v8.0.1 Rom






  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    5
    Member #
    5362
    Liked
    0 times
    Thanks.

    As far as I know, data is enabled. We surf the web, use youtube, download apps. Is there a setting that specifically says data is on?
    Definitely not in airplane mode.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    14,516
    Member #
    18
    Liked
    542 times
    Should be under Settings > Wireless & network settings > Mobile networks. If those are not exact menu items, they're pretty close.

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    5
    Member #
    5362
    Liked
    0 times
    Within that we have "Use packet data" (checked), "Data roaming" (not checked), Access Point Names (APN), Network Mode (set to auto), and Network Operators.

  8. #7
    Rescue Squad
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Avondale, AZ
    Posts
    8,634
    Member #
    2581
    Liked
    484 times
    There would be a airplane in your status bar if you were in airplane mode

    Rescue Squad

    Feel free to pm, with any questions or concerns

    Gtalk available upon request


  9. #8
    Rescue Squad
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Hellinois
    Posts
    4,325
    Member #
    1770
    Liked
    92 times
    Did you just switch from 3G devices? I had that problem when I activated my Rezound when coming from a 3G device on Verizon's network. Something about the switch didn't take automatically and they had to make a change manually. No idea what it was, they did it and I didn't ask questions. Might try calling AT&T.

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    5
    Member #
    5362
    Liked
    0 times
    I had an iPhone 3GS with AT&T and then switched to the Galaxy S2 with T-Mobile. They ported my number, but do you think that might still cause problems? I can try calling T-Mobile tomorrow.

  11. #10
    Rescue Squad
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Hellinois
    Posts
    4,325
    Member #
    1770
    Liked
    92 times
    Quote Originally Posted by GuardedLegacy View Post
    I had an iPhone 3GS with AT&T and then switched to the Galaxy S2 with T-Mobile. They ported my number, but do you think that might still cause problems? I can try calling T-Mobile tomorrow.
    I wouldn't think the problem is related to what I was talking about, but they should still fix it for you if your phone isn't rooted or anything.

 

 

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-06-2011, 11:56 AM
  2. Fascinate Multimedia Desktop Dock & Silcone Cover
    By lonzom10 in forum Samsung Fascinate Accessories
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 06-11-2011, 03:25 PM
  3. Fascinate Sending Blank Text Messages and Not Receiving Text Messages
    By hold6174 in forum Samsung Fascinate Help
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-02-2011, 11:53 PM

Search tags for this page

apn settings on samsung galaxy centura to receive mms messages
,
blank messages galaxy s5
,
galaxy centura wont send pictures
,
galaxy s5 not sending mms
,

multimedia galaxy s2

,
why cant i send a mms text on my samsung s5
,
why galaxy note 2 will not multimedia
,
why is my samaung galaxy s5 sending blank messages
Click on a term to search for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Back to Top